Home > Musings > An F2 Birthday

An F2 Birthday

I had never thought that I would cut my birthday cake this year on the Formula 2 racing tracks. Thanks to Hari for this brilliant surprise and to Ashwin, Nadia and Deepak for the warm celebration. It was really amazing cutting the cake near the tracks with cars VROOMING on the back :).

Belgium has a Formula2 circuit at Zolder besides a Formula1 circuit at Spa. Races 7 & 8 of Formula2 season this year have been scheduled at Zolder this weekend. Deepak got the info, Hari spread it around and we pitched in to go for the Race 7 today. Although I am not a fan of Formula racing, I wanted to go because I had never watched a car race in person and it would be a new subject for me to take photographs :).

Zolder is about 75kms east of Brussels and has a 4km long track. It was used for F1 racing in 70s and 80s but now it is used mostly for F2 and other racing events. The bus dropped us right at the entrance of the circuit. We could already hear the cars outside the gates and as we walked inside and towards the main stands, the loud roaring sound of the cars sent shudder into our chests. I had never experienced this before but it was cool :).

The action on the track as well as off the track was equally exciting. A lot of people came with their caravans and had camped there for the entire weekend.  The cars, the trucks and the people were all amazing and fun to see. The other exciting part was to see the photography gears of people… uff! People had lenses which were no less than canon barrels :). My 18-105mm lens looked minuscule and I felt as if I have come to a war with a needle :).

Apart from F2 race there were qualifying rounds for Maserati and FIA WTCC. So there was enough to see and shoot. The weather for today was predicted to be rainy but luckily it was much better than expected. Although it rained a few times in between, it didn’t spoil the fun. We took pictures, had a picnic lunch besides the track and also cut the cake :).

O what a birthday! Thanks to Hari, Ashwin, Nadia and Deepak… an F2 birthday was it :). It was also nice to receive messages and emails from friends… thank you all :). You made my day!

Photo Album

Categories: Musings Tags: , , ,
  1. Hari
    July 30, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Just realised that I had not made a comment! 🙂 In fact, I thank you and the others who joined us! I think we all enjoyed the day. It was the very first race for all of us! I would like to think that you had deposited a fantastic day into my bank of memories. When I grow old, I will look upon them fondly and it would serve me well. So, thanks to you and the others! 🙂

    • July 30, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      Indeed it was an awesome day for me too. The first race, the first photo trip with you, the first b’day in Belgium, the first cake besides race tracks… they will be my fond memories too 🙂

  2. Hari
    July 30, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Btw, I forgot to mention:

    “People had lenses which were no less than canon barrels :). My 18-105mm lens looked minuscule and I felt as if I have come to a war with a needle :).”

    Loved these descriptions. CANON BARREL!! 😉 NEEDLE? Haha. Made me laugh out loud (LOL)! 🙂

    P.S.: From now on, since we are nikonians, even if you are referring to the real canon, we should mention it as nikon. 😛 So, NIKON barrels it is! 😉

  3. July 30, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Hey by canon I didn’t mean the brand “Canon” but the artillery equipment used to fire bombs in olden times. Ohh I mis-spelt it. It should have been cannon. Remember we are the apples 🙂

  4. Hari
    July 30, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Haha…of course I knew what you meant! Even in the correct context, as true APPLES we should never give “canon” any space in our words and lives! 😉

    P.S.: I am just kidding…

  5. August 30, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    The top quality information on related webpage anywhere

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

