Home > Photo Blogs > The Violinist

The Violinist

“The Violinist” — I took this photo at Lucerne in Switzerland on the famous Chapel Bridge. It is a beautiful wooden bridge built across the Reuss river. I saw this lady playing violin when I was walking through the bridge. The music was melodious and the sight enchanting. I stopped for sometime to listen to the music and take pictures. The conditions were not ideal for shooting. The day was cloudy and the light was already quite low at 9pm. Besides she was standing inside the bridge which was covered from top which reduced the light further. I played around with the settings and took some shots. Her movements made it all the more difficult to get a sharp shot. Unsatisfied with the photos, I walked away. But I couldn’t get myself walk away and returned back. I tried again to take few more shots at different settings with a hope to get at least one sharp image. She stopped playing after a while and I walked up to her. I thanked and appreciated her for the music and asked if I can give her some euros since I didn’t have any swiss francs. She said that it’s okay and I need not give any money. She asked me if she can see the photos I took of her. I showed her the photos which weren’t impressing me much. I asked her that if she can pose for me without moving her arms, I can then take much better pictures. She gladly agreed and I took the above the photo, and both of us liked it :). She requested me if I can email her a few photos as she didn’t have any photos of her while playing the violin. I took her email id and promised to send her the photos. After this, I walked away happier and satisfied :).

This is one of the better shots that I got while she was playing.

  1. Rahul
    July 7, 2010 at 5:14 am

    Good ones.. Agree they are a bit dark, you could’ve used a low flash.. just my opinion 🙂

    • July 7, 2010 at 6:54 am

      Thanks Rahul 🙂 I too had thought of using flash. But she was so engrossed in playing that I didn’t want to distract her. However, I could have used the flash when she posed for me — didn’t strike me then.

  2. SomeOne
    July 7, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Though the pictures are dark, but they are adding some character to it here.

  3. Hariharsudan
    July 7, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Forget the photo man, I love the story. It’s nice to connect with unknown people! 🙂 Such stories make me immensely happy, just like when you are watching a movie, you egg the movie towards a certain direction! 🙂 Fantastic! 🙂

    • July 7, 2010 at 11:03 pm

      Thanks Hari :). True, tht’s one of the joys of photography… some photos have interesting stories behind them :).

  4. Sandeep
    July 15, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Nice that you wrote about this, buddy.. That day, I was wondering what you were doing all that while on the bridge.. but u’ve more than made up for that with the nice shots and the even more interesting recount of the incident…:-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

