Home > Readings > Cloths of Heaven

Cloths of Heaven

December 20, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

I heard this poem of William Butler Yeats in a TED talk of Sir Ken Robinson. In this talk, he expresses his concerns about the current education system. He calls it a manufacturing-based model which is not only killing the creativity of kids but also making them uninterested in education. He suggests for a more personalized form of education where kids have freedom to choose what they wish to learn. He concludes his talk by reading out the above poem and with the following lines –

And everyday, everywhere, our children spread their dreams beneath our feet.
And we should tread softly.

  1. Hari
    December 20, 2010 at 2:21 am

    Love the poem man…I remember him saying it when I first listened to it long back but it was too fast to internalise, but now that you have put it down in black and grey 😛 , I have the chance to dwell on each sentence to enjoy the beauty they possess.

    • December 21, 2010 at 8:58 am

      Hey Hari, I too liked the poem, especially the last two lines. Ken made a very nice conclusion with his last lines and this poem.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

