Home > Living > Reflections of an Expat

Reflections of an Expat

December 25, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s the fifth Christmas for me away from my home country, India. I often think about how can I describe these five years in Belgium. I could never think of an elegant way to describe them. I’m currently reading the book “In Arabian Nights – A Caravan of Moroccan Dreams“. It is about a British man, married to an Indian woman and their life in Morocco. Tahir, the main protagonist of the book, describes his experience of settling down in Morocco. He says –

Settling into a  new country is like getting used to a pair of shoes. At first they pinch a little, but you like the way they look, so you carry on. The longer you have them, the more comfortable they become. Until one day without realizing it you reach a glorious plateau. Wearing those shoes is like wearing no shoes at all. The more scuffed they get, the more you love them, and the more you can’t imagine life without them.

Probably, I can say the same for my years in Belgium, and I guess you too.

Desktop-001

  1. aysuk1
    December 26, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    Wow I really love the quote you posted, I think that any expat can agree with what the person in the book was saying and can agree from my experience of being an English person living in Turkey xx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

